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Title 28 

EDUCATION 

Part IX.  Regents 

 

Chapter l. Rules for Registration and 

Licensure 

§101. Definition of Terms 

A. Terms used in these regulations such as Board of 

Regents, Postsecondary, Academic Degree-granting 

Institution, Registration, Licensure, and Fees shall be 

interpreted in accordance with R.S. 17:1808. 

B. For institutions domiciled in Louisiana, the term 

operate applies to the offering of courses and programs 

through any modality. For institutions domiciled outside 

Louisiana, the term operate shall mean the offering of 

courses that are physically delivered in the state of Louisiana 

and/or require clinical experiences in the state of Louisiana. 

C. The term clinical experiences shall mean site-based 

learning activities (e.g., clinical, internships, student 

teaching, practicum, field-based experiences, etc.) in settings 

(e.g., hospitals, schools, businesses, etc.) in which 

candidates are working with patients, children, teachers, 

principals, etc. in Louisiana and are observed/assisted/ 

evaluated by supervisors, preceptors, coaches, teachers, 

principals, or other individuals to determine that course 

and/program requirements have been addressed.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:1808. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Regents, LR 19:1551 (December 1993), 

amended LR 36:2839 (December 2010). 

§103. Registration and License Applications 

A. All public and private postsecondary, academic 

degree-granting institutions offering instruction in the state 

of Louisiana must register annually with the Board of 

Regents. Regular licenses are reviewed every two years. 

Requests for registration forms and license applications are 

available at www.regents.la.gov. 

B. Completed registration forms and license applications 

should be returned to:  

Louisiana Board of Regents 

Planning, Research, Performance and Academic Affairs-
Licensure 

P.O. Box 3677 

Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70821-3677 

C. License applications must be accompanied by a 

nonrefundable license application fee of $1,500 (approved 

by Louisiana Legislature Act 278 of the 2012 Regular 

Legislative Session). The license application fee must be 

paid by company or institutional check or by money order, 

and should be made payable to the Louisiana Board of 

Regents. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:1808. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Regents, LR 19:1551 (December 1993), 

amended LR 21:168 (February 1995), LR 36:2839 (December 

2010), LR 39:84 (January 2013), LR 45:528 (April 2019). 

§105. License Fees 

A. All license applications must be accompanied by a 

non-refundable fee of $1,500.00 (approved by Louisiana 

Legislature Act 278 of the 2012 Regular Legislative 

Session). The license application fee must be paid by 

company or institutional check or by money order, and 

should be made payable to the Louisiana Board of Regents. 

Any institution granted a license to operate will be required 

to pay an additional $1,500.00 at the start of the second year 

of the two-year licensing period. License renewal fees are 

required during each subsequent two-year licensing period 

and are non-refundable. However, the initial license 

application fee may be reduced to $200 for those institutions 

seeking initial licensure in order to allow clinical practicum 

experiences for fewer than five Louisiana residents enrolled 

in nursing and other health-related programs only. In order 

to continue and renew their licenses, those institutions will 

be required to pay all subsequent fees, including renewal 

fees. License renewal fees are required during each 

subsequent two-year licensing period and are nonrefundable. 

B. If a request for license renewal is not received at the 

Board of Regents' offices at least 30 days prior to its 

expiration date, the institution can be subject to a delinquent 

fee of $500 in addition to the renewal fee. 

C. The Board of Regents may authorize assessment of 

special or supplemental fees to be paid by institutions 

seeking licensure pursuant to special actions or requests. 

D. Institutions seeking licensure shall submit all required 

materials and the nonrefundable license fee to the Board of 

Regents. If a final determination concerning the institution's 

qualifications for licensure is not reached within 180 days of 

receipt of the license application and all supporting 

materials, a provisional license will be issued to the 

institution. The provisional license will remain in effect 

pending a final licensing decision by the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:1808. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Regents, LR 19:1551 (December 1993), 

amended LR 21:168 (February 1995), LR 36:2839 (December 

2010), LR 39:84 (January 2013), LR 45:528 (April 2019). 
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§107. Information Requirements for Registration1 

A. All postsecondary, academic degree-granting 

institutions are required to provide the following information 

on an annual basis: 

1. name and in-state address of the institution; 

2. location of its main campus or office; 

3. a role, scope, and mission statement; 

4. degrees offered in Louisiana; 

5. courses offered in Louisiana; 

6. the name of the institution's chief executive officer 

and chief financial officer; 

7. names and addresses of the institution's governing 

board members, if applicable; 

8. description of its physical facilities in Louisiana; 

9. information relative to the institution's accreditation 

or official candidacy status from a regional, national or 

professional accrediting agency recognized by the United 

States Department of Education; 

10. other information as specified by the Board of 

Regents. 

 1Registration with the Board of Regents shall in no way 

constitute state approval or accreditation of any institution and 

shall not be used in any form of advertisement by any 
institution. 

 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:1808. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Regents, LR 19:1551 (December 1993), 

amended LR 45:529 (April 2019). 

Chapter 3. Criteria and 

Requirements for Licensure 

§301. General Standards 

A. General standards for public and private academic 

degree-granting institutions offering similar degrees and 

titles must be as close as possible. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:1808. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Regents, LR 19:1552 (December 1993), 

amended LR 21:168 (February 1995). 

§302. Institutional Accreditation 

A. Institutions must hold accreditation through an 

association recognized by the U.S. Department of Education. 

Institutions domiciled outside the state of Louisiana must be 

fully accredited by an accrediting body recognized by the 

U.S. Department of Education prior to making an 

application for licensure with the Board of Regents. Existing 

institutions domiciled in the state of Louisiana must hold 

recognized accreditation. New institutions must make formal 

application and obtain accreditation from a U.S. Department 

of Education recognized accrediting association by date 

certain as a requirement for licensure. 

B. Institutions seeking accreditation that have been 

found to meet other requirements set forth by the Board of 

Regents will be granted a conditional license until such time 

that they are accredited, or at a minimum, receive candidacy 

status from a recognized accrediting association. An 

institution that does not receive accreditation within a 

specified time frame will have its conditional license 

revoked. 

C. The Board of Regents will consider a waiver of the 

accreditation requirement in the case of single purpose 

institutions. This consideration will be given only in 

extraordinary circumstances where the board determines that 

it would be educationally impractical for an institution to 

reorganize its programs and operations in order to become 

eligible for consideration by a U.S. Department of Education 

recognized accrediting association. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:1808. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Regents, LR 21:168 (February 1995), 

amended LR 36:2840 (December 2010), LR 45:529 (April 2019).

§303. Faculty 

A. Qualifications of Faculty 

1. Faculty shall be qualified by education and 

experience in the fields in which they teach. Faculty must 

meet the following minimum requirements. 

a. Faculty shall possess no less than the degree 

awarded to a graduate of the program in which they are 

teaching. 

b. The faculty shall be sufficient in number to 

establish and maintain the effectiveness of the educational 

program. 

B. Institutions offering advanced degrees must employ 

faculty who hold advanced degrees in appropriate fields 

from institutions accredited by recognized agencies.1 It is 

required that faculty credentials be verifiable. 

1. If any institution employs a faculty member whose 

highest earned degree is from a non-regionally-accredited 

institution within the United States or an institution outside 

the United States, the institution must show evidence that the 

faculty member has appropriate academic preparation. 

2. It is the responsibility of the institution to keep on 

file for all full-time and part-time faculty members 

documentation of academic preparation, such as official 

transcripts, and if appropriate for demonstrating competency, 

official documentation of professional and work experience, 

technical and performance competency, records of 

publications, and certifications and other qualifications.2 

1 Recognized accrediting agencies are those approved by the 

United States Department of Education. 
2 Source: Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:1808. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Regents, LR 19:1552 (December 1993), 

amended LR 21:169 (February 1995), LR 36:2840 (December 

2010). 

§305. Academic Program Standards 

A. All curricula leading to academic credits, 

certification, and degrees shall be formulated and evaluated 

by qualified faculty with appropriate education and 

experience acceptable to public postsecondary, academic 

degree-granting institutions in Louisiana and elsewhere in 

the nation. 

B. Institutions shall provide prospective students and 

other interested persons with the following information: 

1. admissions policies; 

2. program descriptions and objectives; 

3. schedule of tuition, fees, and other charges; 

4. cancellation and refund policies; 

5. other material information about the institution and 

its programs which may impact a student's enrollment 

decision. 

C. Institutions must provide programs of sufficient 

quality and content to achieve stated learning objectives. 

Curricula offered by the institutions must be formulated and 

evaluated by faculty with appropriate earned degrees from 

institutions with U.S. Department of Education recognized 

accreditation. Institutions are also required to establish 

procedures for evaluating program effectiveness. 

D. Currently licensed institutions seeking to implement 

new academic degree programs must first advise the Board 

of Regents of the proposed change. New programs will be 

reviewed as part of the regular license renewal process. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:1808. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Regents, LR 19:1552 (December 1993), 

amended LR 21:169 (February 1995), LR 36:2840 (December 

2010), LR 38:1228 (May 2012), LR 45:529 (April 2019), amended 

by the Board of Regents, LR 47:1294 (September 2021). 

§307. Student Level Data Collection and Reporting 

A. Institutions seeking initial licensure shall certify in 

writing that they have the capabilities to annually submit to 

the Board of Regents student-level data for each student, in a 

format prescribed by the Board of Regents.  

B. Institutions seeking renewal licensure shall annually 

collect, and all institutions licensed by the Board of Regents 

shall annually report, student-level data from the prior year 

for each student, in a format prescribed by the Board of 

Regents. At minimum, data from the prior year must include 

1. withdrawal data; 

2. program completion/graduation data; 

3. student demographic information (including full 

name, date of birth, social security number, sex, 

race/ethnicity); 

4. Type of credential earned. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:1808. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Regents, LR 47:1294 (September 2021). 

§309. Physical Plant Standards 

[Formerly §307] 

A. Library 

1. Depending on the delivery method of instruction, 

(online, hybrid, brick and mortar), the institution shall 

maintain and/or provide student access to an appropriate 

library collection with adequate support staff, services, and 

equipment. Any contractual agreements with libraries not 

directly affiliated with the institution shall be available in 

writing to the Board of Regents. 

B. Facilities and Equipment 

1. The institution shall maintain or provide access to 

appropriate administrative, classroom, and laboratory space, 

and appropriate equipment and instructional materials to 

support quality education based on the type, level, and 

delivery method of program being offered. Facilities must 

comply with all health and safety laws and ordinances. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:1808. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Regents, LR 19:1553 (December 1993), 

amended LR 45:529 (April 2019), amended by the Board of 

Regents, LR 47:1294 (September 2021). 

§311. Financial Operations 

[Formerly §309] 

A. The business and financial management of the 

institution shall be directed by a qualified and bonded 

business officer responsible to the institution's chief 

executive officer. 

B. Institutions are required to maintain adequate 

insurance to protect the operation of the institution and to 

guard against any personal or public liability. 

C. All institutions shall provide the Board of Regents 

with a financial review prepared in accordance with 

standards established by the American Institute of Certified 

Public Accountants. However, an institution accredited by an 

agency recognized by the United States Department of 

Education may, at its discretion, submit financial statements 

prepared in accordance with rules and guidelines established 

by the accrediting agency. 

D. Institutions shall maintain and update a long-range 

financial development plan for the institution. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:1808. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Regents, LR 19:1553 (December 1993), 
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amended LR 21:169 (February 1995), LR 45:529 (April 2019), 

amended by the Board of Regents, LR 47:1294 (September 2021). 

§313. Maintenance of Records 

[Formerly §311] 

A. Institutions are required to keep records for a 

minimum of three years which detail: 

1. the composition and background of students, 

faculty, and administrative staff; 

2. the institution's physical plant including land, 

buildings, library, and research facilities; 

3. copies of brochures, catalogs, and advertising 

which describe student admissions, programs, and 

scholarships. 

B. A student's records must be available for review by 

that student at the institution's central office. 

C. Individual student records must include: 

1. the name and address of the student; 

2. commencement date of the program; 

3. titles of courses within the student's chosen 

curriculum; 

4. total hours (quarter, trimester, semester); 

5. a payment schedule which includes the total cost to 

the student. 

D. Student records must also include: 

1. grades received; 

2. all obligations incurred and all funds paid by the 

student to the institution; 

3. counseling records; 

4. a transcript; 

5. financial aid records. 

E. Student records shall be available and readily 

accessible for use and review by authorized officials of the 

institution and authorized representatives of the Board of 

Regents. 

F. All licensed institutions are required to have a plan 

for the maintenance, safekeeping and retention of student 

records in the event of an institutional closure. The plan 

must contain the arrangements made by the institution and 

procedures students must follow in order to obtain their 

records. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 17:1808. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Regents, LR 19:1553 (December 1993), 

amended LR 45:530 (April 2019), amended by the Board of 

Regents, LR 47:1294 (September 2021). 

§315. Student Services 

[Formerly §313] 

A. Institutions shall provide appropriate orientation and 

counseling services throughout enrollment. Special services 

including financial aid, employment placement for 

graduates, and student housing, if appropriate, must be 

evaluated periodically by the institution to determine 

effectiveness in meeting student needs and contribution to 

the educational purpose of the institution. 

1. The Board of Regents recommends that prospective 

students seek independent job/career counseling prior to 

enrollment in an academic degree-granting postsecondary 

institution and encourages such institutions to promote this 

recommendation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:1808. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Regents, LR 19:1553 (December 1993), 

amended LR 21:169 (February 1995), amended by the Board of 

Regents, LR 47:1295 (September 2021). 

§317. Organization and Administration 

[Formerly §315] 

A. An institution shall establish a governing structure 

which delineates responsibility for institutional operations, 

policy formation, and the selection of the institution's chief 

executive officer. If the institution is governed by a board or 

group of officers, the role and responsibilities of that body 

must be clearly defined. 

B. Administrative personnel must possess qualifications 

which support the institution's stated purpose and effective 

operation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:1808. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Regents, LR 19:1553 (December 1993), 

amended LR 21:169 (February 1995), amended by the Board of 

Regents, LR 47:1295 (September 2021). 

§319. Procedures for Tuition and Fee Refunds 

[Formerly §317] 

A. Pricing and Refund Policy 

1. The institution must fully disclose all charges and 

fees in writing to prospective students. The parent or 

guardian of prospective students under legal adult age must 

be notified in writing of all charges and fees prior to 

enrollment. 

2. Prospective students shall not be required to make a 

nonrefundable tuition payment until it has been determined 

that the prospective student has been accepted for 

enrollment. 

3. The institution's refund policy must be disclosed in 

any contract to be signed by the prospective student or the 

student's legal adult guardian. 

4. Institutions are required to follow the minimum 

standards for tuition refunds as set forth herein. These 

guidelines are: 

a. students who withdraw prior to the first day of 

classes are entitled to a full refund of tuition and fees. 

Institutions may, however, require a nonrefundable 

application fee; 
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b. any administrative fees retained by the institution 

upon the early withdrawal of a student shall not exceed 15 

percent of the total cost of tuition and fees paid by the 

student; 

c. institutions which financially obligate students on 

a quarter, semester, or similar basis will be subject to the 

following tuition and fee refund policy: 

 i. students withdrawing during the first 10 days 

of classes shall receive a minimum refund of 75 percent of 

total tuition and fees paid, excluding any nonrefundable 

application fees, less the maximally-allowable 

administrative fees retained by the institution; 

 ii. students withdrawing from day 11 through day 

24 of classes shall receive a minimum refund of 50 percent 

of total tuition and fees paid, excluding any nonrefundable 

application fees, less the maximally-allowable 

administrative fees retained by the institution; 

 iii. students withdrawing from day 25 through the 

end of the quarter, semester, or similar time period may be 

ineligible to receive a refund; 

d. institutions which financially obligate students 

for longer periods of time, i.e., periods exceeding six 

months, shall be subject to the following tuition and fee 

refund policy: 

 i. students completing up to 25 percent of the 

course of study shall receive a minimum refund of 50 

percent of total tuition and fees paid, excluding any 

nonrefundable application fees, less the maximally-

allowable administrative fees retained by the institution; 

 ii. students completing more than 25 percent but 

less than 50 percent of the course of study shall receive a 

minimum refund of 25 percent of total tuition and fees paid, 

excluding any nonrefundable application fees, less the 

maximally-allowable administrative fees retained by the 

institution; 

 iii. institutions are not allowed to keep the full 

amount of tuition and fee charges until at least half the 

program of study has been completed; 

 iv. refund policies for programs offering 

tuition/fee payments on an installment plan or programs 

offered through distance learning will be examined by the 

Board of Regents on an individual basis. Refund policies for 

installment programs are expected to conform generally to 

refund policies which appear in Subparagraphs A.4.c.i 

through iii and d.i through iv of this Section; 

e. refunds must be paid within 45 days of the date 

of withdrawal of the student from the institution. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:1808. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Regents, LR 19:1553 (December 1993), 

amended LR 21:169 (February 1995), LR 36:2840 (December 

2010), LR 45:530 (April 2019), amended by the Board of Regents, 

LR 47:1295 (September 2021). 

§321. Surety Bonding 

[Formerly §319] 

A. New Louisiana domiciled unaccredited institutions 

are required to post a surety bond issued by a surety 

authorized to do business in the state of Louisiana in the 

amount of $10,000 to cover the period of the license. These 

bonds are intended to protect students in the event of a 

sudden closure of the institution. Institutions that are also 

licensed and bonded under provisions set forth by R.S. 

17:3141 et seq., need not seek additional bonding. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:1808. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Regents, LR 19:1554 (December 1993), 

amended LR 36:2840 (December 2010), LR 45:530 (April 2019), 

LR 47:1295 (September 2021). 

§323. Rules and Guidelines on Advertising 

[Formerly §321] 

A. Registration with the Board of Regents shall LR 

45:530 (April 2019).in no way constitute state approval or 

accreditation of any institution and shall not be used in any 

form of advertising by any institution.307 

B. Licensed institutions may use the state name and 

licensing agency as follows: 

1. (Name of Institution) is currently licensed by the 

Board of Regents of the State of Louisiana. Licenses are 

renewed by the State Board of Regents every two years. 

Licensed institutions have met minimal operational 

standards set forth by the state, but licensure does not 

constitute accreditation, guarantee the transferability of 

credit, nor signify that programs are certifiable by any 

professional agency or organization. 

2. Any licensed institution wishing to use the state 

name and licensing agency in any promotion or advertising 

is restricted to the language which appears above. The 

statement must appear in its entirety and any modifications 

are not permissible under these rules or the law. 

3. Advertising shall not include false or misleading 

statements with respect to the institution, its personnel, 

courses, or services, or the occupational opportunities of its 

graduates. 

4. Institutions claiming accreditation by agencies not 

recognized by the United States Department of Education 

must clearly state in all advertising and promotional 

literature that the institutions' accreditation is not recognized 

by either the United States Department of Education or the 

State of Louisiana. 

NOTE:  Neither the institution nor its agents shall engage in false 

advertising or other misleading practices. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:1808. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Regents, LR 19:1554 (December 1993), 

amended by the Board of Regents, LR 47:1296 (September 2021). 
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§325. Hearings and Appeals 

[Formerly §323] 

A. Institutional hearings and appeals are handled in 

accordance with guidelines set forth in R.S. 17:1808, 

§1(E)(F). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:1808. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Regents, LR 19:1554 (December 1993), 

amended by the Board of Regents, LR 47:1296 (September 2021). 

§327. Sale of Ownership and Transfer of License 

[Formerly §325] 

A. In the event that an institution sells all or a majority 

interest in its ownership, it is required to notify the board of 

Regents of both expected and final sale. A review of the 

institution's operations and objectives will be required upon 

final sale to determine if the institution's operating license 

should be transferred to the new ownership. Any and all 

costs associated with the Board of Regents' review will be 

borne by the new ownership of the institution. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:1808. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Regents, LR 21:170 (February 1995), 

amended by the Board of Regents, LR 47:1296 (September 2021). 

§329. Licensure Denial 

[Formerly §327] 

A. Any institution denied licensure by the Board of 

Regents that wishes to seek reconsideration by the board is 

required to wait a minimum of 24 months before 

resubmitting its license application. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:1808. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Regents, LR 21:170 (February 1995), 

amended by the Board of Regents, LR 47:1296 (September 2021). 

Chapter 5. Consumer Protection 

§501. General Provisions 

A. Individuals must make every reasonable effort to 

solve disputes directly with the institution. If a solution 

cannot be reached, an individual may file a written 

complaint with the Board of Regents. Board of Regents' staff 

will review the facts and intervene where appropriate. Such 

intervention shall not include legal action on behalf of the 

party, but may include additional investigation of the 

institution including a site visit to determine if the 

institution's license should be revoked. 

B. Disciplinary Provisions and Administrative Penalties 

1. The Board of Regents may institute disciplinary 

proceedings against a licensed agent who engages in false or 

misleading advertising. The Board of Regents may also 

require an institution to submit all advertising for approval 

prior to use. 

2. It is illegal for institutions which come under the 

jurisdiction of the Board of Regents to advertise, recruit 

students for, and/or operate educational programs in the state 

of Louisiana unless properly registered and licensed. 

3. Penalties may be assessed for the following 

violations: 

a. operating an institution without a license; 

b. deceptive or fraudulent advertising; 

c. offering an unapproved program; 

d. other violations as determined by the Board of 

Regents. 

4. Violations may result in suspension of student 

enrollments where patterns of abuse and willful misconduct 

have been established. 

C. Meetings, Site Visits, and Reports 

1. The Board of Regents, at its discretion, may 

conduct preliminary conferences with institutional officers 

and board members to discuss standards and procedures for 

implementing licensure. 

2. The Board of Regents may require a site visit and 

examiner's report at the cost of the institution. The cost shall 

not exceed the actual dollar amount incurred by the Board of 

Regents. 

3. Site visits could include an inspection of facilities, 

books, school files and records, as well as interviews with 

administrators, faculty, and students. 

4. Examiners would submit a report following the site 

visit with recommendations pertaining to the licensure of the 

institution. 

D. Enforcement 

1. The attorney general is authorized to seek 

injunctive relief against an institution operating in 

noncompliance with the law. All costs incurred by the state 

of Louisiana in connection with such action shall be borne 

by the institution if it is found to be operating illegally. 

 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:1808. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Regents, LR 19:1554 (December 1993), 

amended LR 36:2840 (December 2010). 

 


