Marty J. Chabert Chair

Collis B. Temple III Vice Chair

Blake R. David Secretary

Kim Hunter Reed, Ph.D. Commissioner of Higher Education



## **BOARD OF REGENTS**

P. O. Box 3677 Baton Rouge, LA 70821-3677 Phone (225) 342-4253, FAX (225) 342-9318 www.regents.la.gov Claudia H. Adley Randy L. Ewing Robert W. Levy Charles R. McDonald Darren G. Mire Sonia A. Pérez Wilbert D. Pryor T. Jay Seale III Gary N. Solomon, Jr. Gerald J. Theunissen Felix R. Weill Jacqueline V. Wyatt William S. Jewell, Student

Postsecondary Education Agriculture Technology Study Commission Agenda
July 22, 2019
9:30 a.m.

Iowa Room, 1<sup>st</sup> Floor of the Claiborne Building
1201 North 3<sup>rd</sup> St.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana

## **Objective:**

- Study and make recommendations regarding the needs and opportunities related to the creation of an Agriculture Technology Training Program.
- In the study include program budgetary needs, curricula, implementation timeline, cross-system collaboration, and any other items the study commission deems necessary for the successful implementation of an Agriculture Technology Program.

## **Agenda Items:**

- 1. Presentation from Senator Bret Allain
- 2. Roll Call
- 3. Election of Chair
- 4. Discussion:
  - Needs and Opportunities for an Agriculture Technology Training Program
  - Program Budgetary Needs
  - Curricula
  - Cross-System Collaboration
  - Implementation Timeline
- 5. Identify and prioritize next steps

<u>Member</u>	<u>Title</u>	Seat Information as listed in statute
Dr. Jim Henderson	President and CEO University of Louisiana System	(1) The president of the University of Louisiana System or his designee.
Dr. Bill Richardson	LSU Vice President for Agriculture Dean of the College of Agriculture	(2) The Louisiana State University vice president for agriculture or his designee.
Dr. C. Reuben Walker	Interim Chancellor of the Southern University Agricultural Research & Extension Center	(3) The chancellor of the Southern University Agricultural Research and Extension Center or his designee.
Mr. W. Dennis Epps	Chancellor of Louisiana Delta Community College	(4) The president of the Louisiana Community and Technical College System or his designee.
Dr. Jay Clune	Nichols State University President	(5) The president of Nicholls State University or his designee.
Dr. Kristine Strickland	Fletcher Technical Community College President	(6) The chancellor of Fletcher Technical Community College or his designee.
Mr. Jim Simon	Louisiana Farm Bureau Federation - American Sugarcane League	(7) Four persons appointed by the Louisiana Farm Bureau Federation, representing the major agriculture commodity groups.
Mr. Kenneth Morgan	Louisiana Farm Bureau Federation - Louisiana Forestry Association	(7) Four persons appointed by the Louisiana Farm Bureau Federation, representing the major agriculture commodity groups.
Mr. George LaCour	Louisiana Farm Bureau Federation - Louisiana Cotton & Grain Association	(7) Four persons appointed by the Louisiana Farm Bureau Federation, representing the major agriculture commodity groups.
Mr. Mark Frey	Louisiana Farm Bureau Federation - Louisiana Rice Growers Association	(7) Four persons appointed by the Louisiana Farm Bureau Federation, representing the major agriculture commodity groups.
Mr. Richard Fontenot	Louisiana Farm Bureau Federation	(8) The president of Louisiana Farm Bureau Federation or his designee.
Mr. Philip Richard	Corporate Service Manager at Deep Southern Equipment Dealers	(9) Two persons appointed by the Deep Southern Equipment Dealers Association.
Mr. Shane Soileau	Corporate Service Manager at Deep Southern Equipment Dealers	(9) Two persons appointed by the Deep Southern Equipment Dealers Association.
Dr. Carrie Castille	Louisiana State Director Rural Development United States Department of Agriculture	(10) The state director of United States Department of Agriculture Rural Development in Louisiana or his designee.
Dr. Kim Hunter Reed	Commissioner of Higher Education	(11) The commissioner of higher education or his designee