Richard A. Lipsey Chair

Edward D. Markle Vice Chair

Marty J. Chabert Secretary

Joseph C. Rallo, Ph.D. Commissioner of Higher Education



Claudia H. Adley Blake R. David Thomas G. Henning Robert W. Levy Roy O. Martin III Charles R. McDonald Darren G. Mire Sonia A. Pérez Wilbert D. Pryor T. Jay Seale III Collis B. Temple III Jacqueline V. Wyatt Adarian D. Williams, Student

BOARD OF REGENTS P. O. Box 3677 Baton Rouge, LA 70821-3677 Phone (225) 342-4253, FAX (225) 342-9318 www.regents.la.gov

AGENDA SPONSORED PROGRAMS COMMITTEE

Monday, January 8, 2018 10:40 a.m. The Claiborne Building Louisiana Purchase Room 1-100 Baton Rouge, Louisiana

- I. Call to Order
- II. Roll Call
- III. Consent Agenda
 - A. Appointment of Endowed Chairholder without National Search: University of New Orleans
 - B. Conversion of BoRSF-Matched Endowments: LSU and A&M College
- IV. Other Business
- V. Adjournment

Committee Members: Edward Markle, Chair; Thomas Henning, Vice Chair; Marty Chabert; Roy Martin III; Darren Mire; Sonia Pérez; T. Jay Seale III; Adarian Williams

AGENDA ITEM III.A.

Appointment of Endowed Chairholder without National Search: University of New Orleans

Background Information

At its January 12, 2015 meeting, the Board unanimously approved the following revision to the Endowed Chairs for Eminent Scholars policy:

Effective immediately, all campuses shall provide documentation to the Commissioner of Higher Education that each Chair vacancy is being filled – whether externally or internally – following a national search. Any request for waiver of this policy shall be made in writing to the Commissioner of Higher Education and reviewed by external consultants. Upon receipt of the consultants' response, the Commissioner will provide a formal recommendation for consideration and approval by the Board of Regents. Board approval of the waiver must be provided prior to appointment of the chairholder. The Board reserves the right to render a campus not in compliance with this policy to be ineligible for new Endowed Chairs funds.

Staff Summary

The Freeport-McMoRan Chair in Environmental Modeling is a \$1,000,000 Chair matched by the Board of Regents Support Fund in FY 1992-93, recently vacated upon retirement of its previous holder. In accordance with current policy, the University of New Orleans has requested waiver of the Endowed Chairs national search requirement to appoint Dr. John Nicklow, President of the University and Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, to the Freeport-McMoRan Chair. Donor permission was granted for the internal appointment. Documentation outlining Dr. Nicklow's qualifications was provided to an external reviewer, who concluded that this appointment is appropriate and recommended approval; the Commissioner of Higher Education concurred.

Senior Staff Recommendation

The Senior Staff recommends approval of University of New Orleans' request to appoint Dr. John Nicklow to the Freeport-McMoRan Chair in Environmental Modeling without a national search. As stipulated in Board policy, a Letter of Appointment to Dr. Nicklow must be submitted to the Board within 90 days of this approval.

AGENDA ITEM III.B.

Conversion of BoRSF-Matched Endowments: LSU and A&M College

Background Information

At its meeting of September 25, 2014, the Board of Regents inaugurated the Endowed Superior Graduate Student Scholarships subprogram. The approved policy permits campuses to convert previously matched Endowed Chairs and Professorships to other types of endowments available for BoRSF matching.

Staff Summary

LSU and A&M College requests that a portion of the Devon Energy Chair in Petroleum Engineering, a \$1,000,000 Chair matched by the BoRSF in FY 2000-01, be converted to six (6) Endowed Superior Graduate Student Scholarships and one (1) Endowed Professorship. The six scholarships, each with a corpus value of \$100,000, shall be named the Devon Energy Endowed Superior Graduate Student Scholarships #1-6. The remaining \$400,000 portion of the Devon Energy Chair will be converted to one (1) Endowed Professorship to be named the Devon Energy Professorship in Petroleum Engineering. The original non-State donor and the LSU Board of Supervisors have endorsed these conversions.

In addition, LSU and A&M College requests to convert three (3) Endowed Professorships to three (2) Endowed Superior Graduate Student Scholarships, as follows:

- The Carrie Lynn Yoder Memorial Professorship, matched in FY 2013-14, to the Carrie Lynn Yoder Memorial Superior Graduate Student Scholarship in Biological Sciences, with a corpus value of \$100,000; and
- The Ron and Mary Neal Professorship #2 in Biological Sciences, matched in FY 2012-13, to the Ron and Mary Neal Distinguished Fellowship in Biological Sciences, with a corpus value of \$400,000.

The original non-State donors have agreed to the conversions, which have been approved by the LSU Board of Supervisors.

Senior Staff Recommendation

Consistent with program policy, the Senior Staff recommends approval of the following conversions:

- The Devon Energy Chair in Petroleum Engineering to six (6) Endowed Superior Graduate Student Scholarships, to be called the Devon Energy Endowed Superior Graduate Student Scholarships #1-6 and each with a corpus value of \$100,000, and one (1) Endowed Professorship to be named the Devon Energy Professorship in Petroleum Engineering with a corpus value of \$400,000;
- The Carrie Lynn Yoder Memorial Professorship to the Carrie Lynn Yoder Memorial Superior Graduate Student Scholarship in Biological Sciences, with a corpus value of \$100,000; and
- The Ron and Mary Neal Professorship #2 in Biological Sciences to the Ron and Mary Neal Distinguished Fellowship in Biological Sciences, with a corpus value of \$400,000.